الصدع بالحق في وجه السلطة

وحدة تحقيقات الجزيرة هو الاسم الذي يطلق على الصحفيين الذين يعملون في إدارة التحقيقات الصحفية التابعة للشبكة.

توفر وحدة تحقيقات الجزيرة عملاً صحفياً حصرياً لمختلف منصات الشبكة الإعلامية، ويتم ترجمة محتواها إلى العديد من اللغات.

منذ تأسيسها، فازت وحدة تحقيقات الجزيرة بأكثر من أربعين جائزة وأكثر من مائة ترشيح، بما في ذلك ثلاث من بافتا. وفي ديسمبر / كانون الأول من عام 2019، بدأت بإنتاج سلسلة بودكاست تحت عنوان "الجزيرة تحقق".

في عام 2011، أدركت الجزيرة أن ثمة حاجة لإيجاد فريق متخصص يكرس للصحافية الاستقصائية. أسلوب الوحدة وطريقة سير العمل فيها يسمح لها بتوليد محتوى أصيل ومتميز.

كان أول تقرير تنشره الوحدة هو الأوراق الفلسطينية، وكان عبارة عن وثائق سرية مسربة كشفت عن كواليس عملية السلام بين إسرائيل وفلسطين. بعد عام من ذلك أنتجت الوحدة فيلماً حول دول البولونيوم في التسبب بموت ياسر عرفات، وقد حظي الفيلم بتغطية إعلامية عالمية ونجم عنه استخراج جثمان الزعيم السابق لمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية.

كما اهتمت وسائل الإعلام العالمية بنشر الملف الباكستاني حول ابن لادن عندما حصلت وحدة تحقيقات الجزيرة على تقرير داخلي حول رد باكستان على عملية قتل زعيم القاعدة.

وتم وصف فيلم "برقيات الجاسوسية" بأنه أكبر تسريب لبيانات سرية منذ سنودن، وحظي بتغطية إعلامية مكثفة في كل من بريطانيا وجنوب أفريقيا.

ومن التحقيقات البارزة أيضاً "داخل فرق الموت الكينية" الذي أجبر الحكومة الكينية على الدعوة إلى اجتماع طارئ لمجلس الوزراء للرد على ما خلص إليه التقرير. أما فيلم اللوبي فنج عنه صدور اعتذار عن سفير إسرائيل لدى بريطانيا وطرد أحد كبار المسؤولين السياسيين في سفارة إسرائيل في لندن. وفي عام 2020، جذب فيلم "كيف تبيع مجزرة" انتباه وسائل الإعلام لما يزيد عن أسبوع في أستراليا، ووصف بأنه واحد "من أجرأ عمليات التصيد الصحفية".

ترى وحدة تحقيقات الجزيرة أن فتح التحقيق في عمليات الفساد من أهم أولوياتها. تسبب فيلم "سرقة الفردوس" في إحداث تسونامي سياسي في المالديف وساهم في إسقاط الحكومة هناك. أما فيلم "تشريح الرشوة" فأدى إلى إلقاء القبض على وزيرين في الحكومة في فضيحة هزت ناميبيا.

وشملت تحقيقات الوحدة في الرياضة العالمية فيلم "الجانب المظلم" الذي أورد أسماء بعض أشهر وأبرز النجوم في الولايات المتحدة ممن يتعاطون عقاقير محسنة للأداء. أما فيلم "مرتبو نتائج مباريات كريكت" فكشف عن الفساد في أعلى المستويات داخل هذه الرياضة الدولية، مما نجم عنه فتح تحقيق من قبل الهيئة التي تشرف عليها.

من الطبيعي أننا لا نحظى بحب الجميع لنا. فهذا اللاعب السابق في كرة القدم الأمريكية بيتون مانينغ يصف تحقيقنا في استخدام العقاقير المحسنة للأداء من قبل نجوم الاحتراف الرياضي بأنه "كله زبالة". أما بولين هانسون، زعيم حزب أمة واحدة المعادي للهجرة في أستراليا فزعم أننا جواسيس وأننا ندعم الجماعات الإسلامية المتطرفة.

ينسب إلى جورج أورويل قوله إن "الصحافة تنشر ما لا يرغب بعض الناس في نشره، وكل ما عدا ذلك فهو علاقات عامة."


الجوائز

منذ عام 2013، حصلت وحدة تحقيقات الجزيرة على ما يزيد عن مائة جائزة وترشيح من أرقى الهيئات حول العالم. ونحن ندين لهم بالشكر على دعمهم للصحافة الاستقصائية.

ترشح لجائزة ويبي للعام 2021

ترشح لجائزة ويبي للعام 2021

2021

ترشح لجائزة ويبي (فئة الأخبار والسياسة - اجتماعي) - أوراق قبرص: المهمة السرية

ترشح لجائزة ويبي للعام 2021

ترشح لجائزة ويبي للعام 2021

2021

ترشح لجائزة ويبي (فئة الأخبار والسياسة) - بودكاست تحقيقات الجزيرة: رجال رئيسة الوزراء

Speaking Truth To Power

Al Jazeera Investigative Unit or I-Unit is the name for journalists from the network’s Investigative Journalism Directorate.

The I-Unit provides exclusive journalism for Al Jazeera Media Network’s many platforms and its content is translated into multiple languages.

Since its formation, the I-Unit’s documentaries have won more than forty awards and over a hundred nominations, including four from Bafta. In December 2019, it began its podcast series, Al Jazeera Investigates.

In 2011, Al Jazeera recognized the need to create a specialized team dedicated to investigative journalism. The methodology and workflow of the unit allows it to concentrate on generating original, breakthrough content.

The unit’s first release was The Palestine Papers, a leak of confidential documents that exposed the inner-workings of the peace process between Israel and Palestine. A year later, an investigation into the role of polonium in the death of Yasser Arafat again became headline news and resulted in the exhumation of the former PLO leader’s body.

Further headlines followed the release of Pakistan’s Bin Laden Dossier, when the I-Unit obtained an internal report on Pakistan’s response to the killing of the Al Qaeda leader.

The Spy Cables was described as the largest leak of confidential data since Snowden and resulted in front-page coverage in Britain and South Africa.

Other notable investigations include Inside Kenya’s Death Squads, which forced the Kenyan government to call an emergency cabinet meeting to react to its findings. The Lobby led to an apology by Israel’s ambassador to the British government and the firing of a senior political officer at Israel’s embassy in London. In 2020, How to Sell a Massacre made headline news for more than a week in Australia and has been described as ‘journalism’s most audacious sting’.

For the I-Unit, the investigation of corruption is a priority. Stealing Paradise created a political tsunami in the Maldives and contributed to the fall of the government. Anatomy of a Bribe led to the arrest of two cabinet ministers and a scandal that has shaken Namibia.

I-Unit investigations into global sport include The Dark Side, which named some of the best-known stars in the United States as users of performance enhancing drugs. Cricket’s Match Fixers exposed corruption at the highest levels of the international game, sparking an investigation by the sport’s governing body.

Of course, not everyone likes us. The former NFL quarterback Peyton Manning described our investigation into the use of PEDs by professional sports stars as “complete garbage”. Pauline Hanson, the leader of Australia’s anti-immigration, One Nation party, claimed we were spies who “supported Islamic extremist groups”.

As George Orwell is said to have remarked, “Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed; everything else is public relations.”


Awards

Since 2013, Al Jazeera Investigative Unit has received over a hundred awards and nominations from prestigious organisations across the globe. We thank these groups for supporting investigative journalism.

The Webby Awards 2021

The Webby Awards 2021

April 2021

Nominated: How to Sell a Massacre [Podcast]

The Webby Awards 2021

The Webby Awards 2021

April 2021

Nominated: The Cyprus Papers Social Media Coverage

BAFTA

BAFTA

April 2021

Nominated: The Cyprus Papers Undercover

The Lovie Awards 2020

The Lovie Awards 2020

2020

Gold Winner - How to Sell a Massacre

The Lovie Awards 2020

The Lovie Awards 2020

November 2020

Gold and Bronze Winner - Facebook Pages Of Hate

BAFTA

BAFTA

2019

Nominated - Football’s Wall of Silence

The Lovie Awards 2019

The Lovie Awards 2019

2019

Gold Winner - Karaoke Chemist

Walkey Award

Walkey Award

2019

Scoop of the year - How to Sell a Massacre